Dear You

I’m a little concerned about some of you.  Some of you do not feel you are enough.  Just you.  Enough.  But you are.  God did not create you to need someone else to make you whole.  You already know that, right? Maybe it’s just me that thinks I need others to make me better.  Now, before you get in a tiff, I know that we need people around us.  I do know that.  I love a good chat, too.  But what if you don’t always have people around? What if you don’t have a ton of friends, don’t have GNOs every week? Aren’t involved in your church, don’t have many girlfriends?  Does that make you less than?  Does that mean you are lacking? No, it does not.

I think if we’re not careful, we start comparing ourselves with others.  She has so many friends….she’s always doing fun stuff….she has the best job….I wish I was like her.  I wish I was like her.  Not like me.  Girls, ladies–this is not of God. Don’t compare yourself to others. Please don’t.  I know it creeps in on us, but it’s not healthy.   I know that we set high standards for ourselves.  We sometimes fail to support our sisters, each other.  We secretly are glad when “she” doesn’t get the promotion. We secretly are glad when “her” kids stay in trouble.   It makes us feel better about ourselves.  Because we don’t think we are enough.

Time to let it go, dear. Quit giving her and yourself a hard time.  Fear is not of God.  Guilt is not of God.  Perfectionism is not of God.  Grace is of God.  From God.  Be gracious to yourself. It’s not only for others, it’s for you, too. Because you are enough.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by tonyagarrick. Bookmark the permalink.

About tonyagarrick

Wife to a great hubby, mom of 2 exceptionally awesome boys and 1 beautiful little girl ...love reading, laughing, the beach, coffee and coke, pretending to garden, newness, travel. Do not love seafood, lies, scary​ stuff. This blog is about our family and our adventures through life, where that may lead. Thanks for stopping by!

6 thoughts on “Dear You

Leave a Reply

