Grace, Grace, Grace

First, read this short blog post by Donald Miller……..

This resonated with me.  For various reasons, I tend to carry junk with me.  Some of it is mine, some of it is not, but I still hang on to it.  Or, it hangs on me, weighing me down, keeping me second guessing myself, my purpose, my passions.  Time to stop it.  (past time, actually)

Okay, next……this Dr. Seuss excerpt is a good follow up to the Donald Miller post!

You have brains in your head.
You have feet in your shoes
You can steer yourself
any direction you choose.
You’re on your own.  And you know what you know.
And YOU are the guy who’ll decide where to go.

I picked a word for 2013 about 11 months ago…..it was “intentional.”  I reread that post and was reminded that I don’t extend grace to myself easily.  I’m not sure why, but I plan on continually working on that.  I definitely don’t want my kids to think that’s okay…..to be hard on yourself, to think that you couldn’t possibly make a difference in the world, to  carry junk around for years that doesn’t even matter and never did, to think that God could love you less.  Don’t ever think that God could love you less.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by tonyagarrick. Bookmark the permalink.

About tonyagarrick

Southern wife to a great hubby, mom of 2 exceptionally awesome boys and 1 beautiful little girl... love reading, laughing, the beach, coffee and Coke, pretending to garden, newness, travel. Do not love seafood, lies, scary stuff. This blog is about our family and our adventures through life, wherever that may lead.

Leave a Reply

