Suburbs to City

We have been in South Korea for over 2 weeks and are over jet lag. That makes everything better! We have walked our neighborhood and still not found all of the short cuts which can easily turn into a separate uphill adventure all of its own. Did I say uphill? Uphill. 

These stairs are a great shortcut to the school!

  
We live in a small complex near several of the YISS teachers. That’s helpful since some have been here a while. -I have a porch, y’all! If you know me at all, you know this is a big deal. Porches are a thing for me. I *think* we live in Kyungridan. I think. I could be a little off because things are different here, ok?!  I’ve seen different spellings, too. Just go with it.  We live behind the busy Itaewon strip, up the mountain. Up. Uphill. Way up the hill. 

 Kids are doing well. I started orientation this week so I’m happy to get into my routine, get my classroom in order, go to the teacher supply store next week.  School starts soon! I’m sure my kids are just as excited as I am!

There is so much good food to try. From traditional Korean to American fast food to street food, which is also very good. We had Thai food this week and it was delish! Spicy but good. The kids have been great about trying new foods so our walks usually take us to a restaurant. Coincidence? Nahhh. 

  
We’re trying to learn Korean. I can almost say “turn right”! But I can definitely point and wave my hands so that’s all very helpful in a taxi. I’m sure the drivers love to see me! We say thank you about 10x so I’m hoping they appreciate that while I learn their language! -It’s monsoon season which has meant lots of clouds with almost daily showers. We have been caught in the rain without enough umbrellas and haven been given an umbrella by someone. This has happened twice now! So nice. It has also been slightly cooler which is nice. The humidity here is killer and I’m from the Deep South! We’re a hot sweaty mess every time we step outside. Well, mainly just me and Jacob and Julianna. For whatever reason, Sean and Caleb stay human  when we go outside while the rest of us melt. But believe it or not, summer is still my favorite season.  Just grab a water and let’s go! 

 We’ll start going to touristy stuff soon but for now we’re getting to know our neighborhood and learning how to live here. In a big city. It’s an adjustment but a good one.

This entry was posted in Big move, Family, life, South Korea and tagged , by tonyagarrick. Bookmark the permalink.

About tonyagarrick

Wife to a great hubby, mom of 2 exceptionally awesome boys and 1 beautiful little girl ...love reading, laughing, the beach, coffee and coke, pretending to garden, newness, travel. Do not love seafood, lies, scary​ stuff. This blog is about our family and our adventures through life, where that may lead. Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Suburbs to City

Leave a Reply

