Hi, October

It’s already October, the best month of the year! Overnight, our weather changed from warm to very chilly, but I refuse to wear a jacket, like a true Southerner.

Our middle school will have their annual Week Without Walls trip soon. I’ll go with 8th grade this year. Should be fun!

Caleb will be going on a soccer trip soon to Malaysia. I might be jealous.

Julianna takes ballet and basketball at school and loves both. That’s a good representation of her personality. She also wishes I was Korean. I get it. It’s hard being different when you look like someone who should speak Korean and have a Korean family.

I still love my middle school students. They’re just a fun group! I’ve always enjoyed being around teenagers, including my own two.  Jacob is a funny 13.75 year old. Caleb is our pseudo-adult, like always. He’s our creative soul who questions why. It’s hard to give answers when you question why, yourself.

Why are people not interested in life outside of themselves?

Why don’t people think for themselves?

Why should I conform to something I can’t agree with?

Why are people scared of truth?

Those questions do not have simple answers.

 

 

This entry was posted in Expat life, Family, life, South Korea, travel, Uncategorized by tonyagarrick. Bookmark the permalink.

About tonyagarrick

Southern wife, mom of 2 teenage boys and 1 beautiful little girl, middle school teacher, expat. My loves: reading, laughing, the beach, coffee and Coke, nature, newness, education, art, travel. Do not love: seafood, lies, boredom, scary stuff. This blog is about our family and our adventures through life, wherever that may lead. Current home: South Korea

Leave a comment